Formula One 2015 changes

The 2015 Formula One season has arrived. What’s changed?

Team changes

The ten “big teams” remaining the same this year, but there are two changes further down the field. Caterham entered administration at the end of 2014 and never made it out. Their property is currently being auctioned off. Marussia did make it out of administration under the name Manor, but failed to make it in to the Australian Grand Prix.

Driver changes

Team Driver Last year
Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
Mercedes Nico Rosberg Mercedes
Red Bull Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
Red Bull Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso
Williams Felipe Massa Williams
Williams Valtteri Bottas Williams
Ferrari Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
Ferrari Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
McLaren Fernando Alonso Ferrari
McLaren Jenson Button McLaren
Force India Nico Hulkenberg Force India
Force India Sergio Perez Force India
Toro Rosso Max Verstappen none
Toro Rosso Carlos Sainz none
Lotus Pastor Maldonado Lotus
Lotus Romain Grosjean Lotus
Sauber Felipe Nasr none
Sauber Marcus Ericsson Caterham

The following drivers have not returned:

  • Kevin Magnussen drops from McLaren’s front line to their test driver slot
  • Jean-Eric Vergne leaves Toro Rosso
  • Sauber drops both Adrian Sutil and Esteban Gutierrez (who has gone to Ferrari as a test driver)
  • Kamui Kobayashi has no team left after Caterham folded
  • Max Chilton has not survived Marussia’s change to Manor

Sadly, Marussia’s other driver, Jules Bianchi, remains in a coma following his crash during the Japanese Grand Prix.



Don't have time to check my blog? Get a weekly email with all the new posts. This is my personal blog, so obviously it is 100% spam free.


Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, March 18th, 2015 at 10:58 am and is filed under Sport. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.